Recently reading: Newsela

I first heard of NewsELA from the EL coordinator at my site. It used to be a site that collected and paraphrased English news articles from around the world at the elementary and early middle school reading levels. Now, it’s expanded to other texts and has a classroom function where you can assign articles for students to read, mark up, write about, and respond to.

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 4.16.32 PM

The EL social studies teachers very much enjoyed it, and to the best of my knowledge, use NewsELA quite often. EL ELA teachers also use it of course. I’m not sure what the science teachers at my school do with this, but then I’m not sure what the science teachers at my school do at all. But that’s a story for another day.

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 6.01.58 PM

Only money…..?

On the math front, sadly, there isn’t much. There’s a money filter for news articles, which is basically all that the news seems to offer in terms of authentic text about math. Even the AVID people don’t really have resources for math text outside of technical writing and reading.

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 4.17.40 PM

Some text sets about women in math, but not much else.

I want to like NewsELA, I really do. And I suppose it is a good resource to use. Unfortunately, I can’t do much with it in my middle school math classroom.

What are some of your resources for authentic text?

Leave a Reply

