CMC North

Earlier this month, I attended the CMC North Conference with some of my colleagues. Super Colleague always talks this one up, so perhaps I entered it with a much larger idea of what it was than I actually came out with.

screen-shot-2016-12-26-at-2-13-03-pm

I get what they are doing with the heart logo, but it’s not the prettiest logo in the world, is it?

Not that the conference wasn’t great. Dan Meyer was the keynote speaker on opening night. And it’s always fun to discuss ideas with other people. But two of the 4 sessions I went to left me a bit underwhelmed. My colleagues and I decided to divide and conquer, so none of use went to the same session for the most part. I must be really bad at picking sessions.

The first one I went to was nothing new to me. Or at least the first half was nothing new. I tuned out after awhile.

The second session was a lot more exciting. I decided to go to an upper high school session, rather than my normal middle school/lower high school grades crowd. I learned a lot about the pentagon at this session, and renewed my appreciation for accented, yet clearly spoken English.

My third session I shared with Super Colleague. I went because the presenter was a fellow Aggie and I wanted to know what he had to say about assessments geared for a growth mindset. It was very thought provoking. [And I actually tried it out when I got back to school. More about this on another post.]

The forth session was completely not what I thought it was. Even though I left with something I could use in my classroom, it was only because we were coincidentally on the same topic at the time.

In the end, my favorite part of the weekend was being in Monterey. It was just nice to get away. The work-school-home routine was getting a bit too routine.

img_9191

Reminder: Change scenery every so often. It’ll do a person good.

Leave a Reply

