Blogger review: The Chriselle Factor

I stumbled upon this blogger a few months ago while surfing on Instagram. I want to like everything about her blog, her style tips, and her videos, but something just doesn’t quiet click.

For example, I like this video on skincare tips in general (especially the part about making your own toner with apple cider vinegar and lemon juice). I don’t like how absolutely impractical she makes it look (icing your face every morning for a ‘slimmer face?’ Really?). The product placement for some very expensive stuff also seems out of wack.

Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 9.16.59 AM

I suppose that’s what a lot of fashion/beauty bloggers – or just any blogger, anyone with a Facebook account – does: heighten reality, stylize the lighting, the music, the props, and the motions of life so that it doesn’t resemble anything like real life at all. I’m not sure what to think when there are dozens of Youtubers teaching people how to put on a ‘natural looking’ face with an army of products and green tea bags. This must be what all the Dove campaign for Real Beauty fights against.

Yet, I’m strangely in awe of the whole Chriselle Factor package. The lovely lighting! The strange, scripted speaking pattern she uses (perhaps that’s just her normal speaking pattern, perhaps it’s the viewer’s one link to reality amongst her gold-and-white-and-blush-and-gray surreal color scheme in nearly every video). The need for aesthetic beauty in that very feminine, very stylized, and very high maintenance manner. The odd idiosyncratic, homemade beauty and dressing secrets sprinkled in with the big brands and high labels that most people could never afford – yet probably still buy anyway. I’m disgusted and transfixed at the same time.

P.S. I, too, admit that I’ve tried the whole ice-your-face trick once or twice. Definitely not for a long enough period of time to show any kind of difference. Methinks I have my winter break experiment. Ice and green tea bags on my face each morning from now until January 5th! Because we all know once school begins again, all I’ll have the energy for is a sugar scrub in the morning, and running my fingers through my hair to get the knots out.

Leave a Reply

