Thankfulness, 2014

IMG_5070

2014 has been a strange year thus far. I’m confused by the strangeness. I wonder what it means, and how I’m growing – if I’m growing at all. Perhaps I’ll never know. Perhaps my eyes will be opened to what it means tomorrow.

I really like this article. It is well spoken, and rather profane, but it speaks a truth to me that I sort of need right now. That I’ve needed during all of 2014, and a little bit before that as well.

It also reminds me of some of the things I’m thankful for. So, here’s my 2014 Thanksgiving thankfulness list! I’m thankful for:

1. The comfort and security in Christ. I learned a little bit more about this in the past 12 months. It seems like I will learn more before my life is done.

2. The power of prayer. The top thing I’ve prayed for a lot lately is companionship. I haven’t met any future spouses yet, if he even exists. But I have gotten closer to a bunch of other people, both new and old friends. I’m so thankful for their friendship, their listening ear, sharing food, and thoughts, and fun times, and tough times together. These people are definitely an answered prayer that has given me encouragement during the time I’m waiting for another prayer to be answered.

3. The loosening and releasing of baggage. While I have gotten closer to some people, I have also grown farther away from others. One friendship in particular was deliberately released. I still feel burdened by the memory of it sometimes. But I’m thankful to have the opportunity to let go of things. It would be horrible if we were forced to keep every relationship in our lives front and center. At least, I would find it horrible. There are the ones I want to keep and hold close and work for. And then there are the ones that need to be cleaned out for the good of the spirit.

4. GPS. I visited a lot of new places this year, either for fun or work or errands. Most of these places are local, so not entirely new, but I find it the most difficult sometimes to navigate my own town. There are neighborhoods within walking distance of me that hold gems for discovery. And the GPS always gets me back to a place where I can find my way home again.

5. My church women’s Bible study. I was thankful for BSF last year (still am), but there’s something about this new group I started attending this fall that is very satisfying as well. We fell into an easy fellowship almost right away. It’s easy to be open and share with this group in a way that helps me learn to be more vulnerable and transparent, in a good way.

6. Family. It feels good to come home and know that there are people who will accept me for who I am, and I can do the same for them. My mom can make things awkward sometimes, yes. But the thing with family is that awkwardness doesn’t have to get in the way like it would in another friendship. I just kind of let the awkwardness be. And that’s ok sometimes.

7. Green tea. Anti-oxidants. What can go wrong?

8. The slow life. Taking the time to make something from scratch. To write a snail mail letter. To walk to my destination instead of driving. To do something slowly, and to do it well. There is a certain luxuriousness to taking things at a leisurely pace. No rush, no hurry, no being shuttled along by the culture of instant-ness. Just moving along at my own pace, doing things at my own rate. It’s lovely.

One thought on “Thankfulness, 2014

  1. Pingback: One Good Thing | bonng

Leave a Reply

