#34. Renew my passport

Screen Shot 2014-06-15 at 12.15.03 PM

I love my passport. I love the idea of a passport. So it’s always been very important to me to keep it up-to-date. Unfortunately, I let it slip into expiration for a few months last fall. My passport had expired in October. Around that time, the government shut down was a big deal all over the place, and the passport renewal agency would be affected. I didn’t want my passport to be sitting in a bin somewhere for however long the government was shut down, so I put off renewing it until late December, after the shut down was done.

It certainly didn’t feel good to have that span of time, no matter how short, and be passport-less. I love traveling, I love the freedom and the enlightenment that comes with it. And without a passport, I couldn’t even entertain the idea of that.

It felt good to get my passport back in January. I’ve put it to good use since then – a trip to Hong Kong and an application to work for the summer at Lockheed Martin. Looking forward to entering Canada in late summer/early fall of this year, and perhaps another trip to HK in December for my cousin’s wedding. He’s holding a ceremony here in the states as well, but any excuse to travel, yes?

Leave a Reply

