A wise woman, that Maya

Never make someone a priority when all you are to them is an option.
-Maya Angelou

Priorities:
1. Family. Take care of and spend time with my parents. Reach out to my cousins. Just bought plane tickets to HK for spring break to visit my relatives there. Visit my brother in Japan, and my cousins in Vancouver. The above quote does not apply here. Pretty much all of my family makes each other a priority. I’m thankful for my family.

2. Friends. Birthday cards snail mailed. Birthday dinner (belated) with an unexpectedly entertaining film (Magic Mike) and some really good kebabs and clementine soda. Texts and phone calls. More snail mail. Spending time with people. But the above quote applies here.

Recently, I’ve realized that some friends have always considered me as just an option. There is no loyalty there. That is not a fun feeling. But I understand. I’ve done it to other people to, in my own way. But I don’t think I’ve ever been underhand about it. I’ve always tried to be clear. And I’ve always tried to be a good friend. And I’ll still be loyal, and help a person out if they ask, or open up and share if the situation calls for it. It’s just that in this case, I thought we were friends…but I suppose they didn’t think we were at all. Hence, the priorities/options thoughts. I was always just an option to them. Although I’m sure there are some old trust issues that have nothing to do with me at all. Having a dad who had a completely different family in another country does that to a person, I guess.

3. Work. Colleagues. My students. They take up a lot of my attention, but I love it. I even go in on Sundays (I’m not the only one to do this) to organize and lesson plan. The above quote sort of applies here. Of course I feel like I can spend more energy on the students and colleagues that also reciprocate. But that doesn’t mean I won’t help out others when I can. That doesn’t mean I’ll teach a sub-par lesson to students who aren’t as studious as they can be. At the same time, I’m replaceable. They don’t need me. I’m there because I’m blessed enough to be, so I might as well enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

