A decade and then some

IMG_0200

I follow a lot of blogs. Not terribly regularly; just checking in and reading when the thought occurs to me to do so. The blogs I follow fall into one or more of these categories:

– fashion                                             – food
– photography                                 – animals
-design                                               – travel

90% of the blogs I follow are also from Hong Kong. I don’t really follow teaching blogs because I find them difficult to read. This needs to be explored more in another post sometime.

It occurred to me yesterday, while catching up on blog posts, that a lot of these blogs sound so young. The bloggers are young – at least a few years younger than me. I probably sounded just as young when I blogged back then – I probably still do. It’s kind of mind boggling to me. So much so that I don’t even know where I’m going with this.

—–

I started blogging 12 years ago. 10 years ago, we moved into our ‘new’ house, my childhood pet died, I attended my first two non-family member weddings, my brother moved to Japan, I started working summers for the state of California, I learned that it’s possible to wear something other than jeans-and-a-t-shirt, I bought my first pair of heels, my first car went kaput, and I got my first hamster as well as my first digital camera.

10 years ago was when I first started coming into my own. When I first saw an inkling of what life after school would look like, even though I was still 2 years away from graduating yet. When my world opened a bit wider for the first time to allow things other than family, school, and church into my life.

10 years ago. It seems so far away when I look at it through my paper  and photo trail. A lot has happened in 10 years. I’m sad that such a long time has passed, yet thankful that I’ve been given so much time to live.

Here’s to another 10 years.

Leave a Reply

