Thanksgivings

The 2013 holiday season is approaching with such rapidity that my brain is fooled into thinking that we just had Christmas only a few weeks ago. As a visual example, the internet has this. I’ve also read somewhere that new things seem to take more time, while repeated experience of something seems to take less time. Which is why people have such sharp memories of when they were young, compared to when they were 35 and have been doing the same old thing over and over again.

Makes me want to do new things all the time.

This one old thing should still be a routine habit to maintain: giving thanks. There’s a lot to be thankful for. I used to blog about the things I was thankful for each week on Facebook. And then I stopped. I don’t know why. But that probably doesn’t matter.

I’m thankful for:

1. Clam chowder in a sourdough bread bowl and I’m thankful for the provision that surrounds this. For the car that I can use to drive to SF Boudin, for the restaurant itself, for the friends who I ate with, for the wait staff who took my order, cooked it, carried my food to my table, cleared the table, and washed the dishes for me. For the freedom to eat out whenever I want to in a clean, safe, well-lit place. For the job that lends the means to buy this lunch out. I pray that I can give back to my community to those in need, because that would be me too, but for the grace of God.
Image

2. Friends with kids. Reminds me that there are more important things than keeping a house so clean you can eat off the floor, that spending face-time together makes a family closer, and that kids are a blessing. That teaching them well and raising them to be godly, conscientious global citizens is a serious task that needs to be played out with each split-second decision made in the home. Also, I’m thankful that I don’t have such responsibility yet, but I pray that it would be in my future some day. That a warm home and people to call your own is a happy thing.
Image

3. I’m thankful for the successful shopping trip that will revitalize my wardrobe for the rest of this fall, winter, and early spring. Once again, I’m thankful for the job that lends the means to buy these things. For the shop staff who stocked the store and kept it clean and friendly for the customers. That I have the freedom to shop whenever I want in a safe, clean, and well-lit place. That I am clothed, and clothed well. That even if the shopping trip wasn’t successful, I would still have plenty of clothes at home to wear. For the friends that I got to spend time with. I pray that I can be present for my friends and family. That I enjoy their company when in their company to the fullest.
Image

Leave a Reply

