Things that break my heart of late

IMG_2603

It breaks my heart to get notes like this from my students. I’ve notified the counselor. I asked one  of her peers (a very nice, caring kid who is a good friend) to listen to her. She cried for the better part of class on Friday.

It breaks my heart when people you thought were friends, people you thought would take the time to tell you things in person, or at least over the phone or in private message, doesn’t.

It breaks my heart when people I like don’t like me back. It breaks my heart when people I like, who once liked me, end up not liking me anymore. It breaks my heart when people move on, inexplicably, and leave me behind. Is it my fault? Did I do something wrong? Did I not live up to some sort of unspoken standard? Did I not fit into the group? Into their world? Did I mar their perfect lives with my presence?

It breaks my heart when God continues to show me so much grace in spite of all my wrongs.

It breaks my heart when I see so much good in such unexpected places, and during times when I need to see it the most.

When a heart is broken, it will heal in ways that allows for greater love than before.

And if it doesn’t allow for greater love, then it hasn’t healed yet.

Leave a Reply

