#25. Do some volunteer work

(This is a continuation of documenting my second go-around with the Day Zero Project, otherwise known as 101 Things in 1001 Days. Read more about my current 101 things here.)

Back in April, I participated in a small group Bible study on Rick Warren’s 40 Days in the Word. It was a fun group, and I liked it a lot better than I thought I would.

All the small groups were set a challenge to do something in service of others as a group. So at the end of the study in May, my group decided to bag 300 lbs of pinto beans into quart-sized baggies and deliver them to the Monument Crisis Center in Concord. I was in charge of organizing everything and delivering the final product to the center.

IMG_1646

This is what 300 lbs of pinto beans look like. It took up all the space in my little Honda Civic.

During this project, I learned that I am more open to getting to know new people over a group project than over regular socializing. Perhaps this is why I grew comfortable with my coworkers way more quickly than with most other people. It’s just that there are a lot more actions from people to observe and gather information on their personality. I think I read actions way better than I can read words. Or perhaps I just have too much experience with people who say one thing and mean something else so my judgement is rather wonky.

In any case, lots of people got to have some pinto beans. It feels good to do good. =)

Leave a Reply

