#3. Answer the “50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind”

Back in May of this year, I started my second round of doing the 101 Things in 1001 Days list. It’s a great idea. The last time I did it, it was from middle of 2008 to the beginning of 2010. Here are some things I accomplished back then:

– Get a pet (Momiji!)
– Go to Hong Kong (for a month in the dead of monsoon season – on the plus side, I got to know the luxurious pool system at my parent’s place in 東涌)
– Get my teaching credential (as well as started my master’s)
– Get a job (Go Condors!)
– Frame a bunch of things including the poster from the Seattle space needle with shots that I took of the Bird’s Nest, the Great Wall, the Bank of China building, and some other architectural things from my early-20s wanderlust

I had documented it all…and then, in a fit of digital organizing and purging, I deleted the file that proved I did all those things.

This time, no deleting! Also: flaunting my accomplishments to the world wide interweb. It’s like they say, you can never delete anything from the internet.

I had answered the 50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind during my last go at the Day Zero Project as well. So maybe that’s what I started getting so jaded when I answered them this time around. A lot of the questions ended up being yes-or-no questions – and with a lot of yes-or-no questions, I usually just say yes or no without elaboration. A habit I picked up from teaching 13 year olds these past three years. Here are some of my answers now:

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

Because life isn’t about only doing the things that we like. Life is about making something, being something, and that can be tough, with dislikable tasks.

10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

I’m worried about doing the right things right.

15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

I take care of my finances differently. I save a lot more money, I buy less stuff, and in general I lead a very minimalistic lifestyle. I go about projects and try to follow through, I mean what I say and say what I mean, I go home a lot, I need a lot of alone time, hermit mode time, to recover from over-working or being people-ed out.

22. Why are you, you?

I am me because God made me, me. I’m more occupied with answer the question of WHO I am, not WHY I am.

34. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?

No. But I want to.

43. What is the difference between being alive and truly living?

When you truly live, you won’t have to ask this question of yourself.

46. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?

I would initiate friendships and conversations more often.

Leave a Reply

