Summer 2013, Week 4

A couple hours after I wrote that previous post, I felt like deleting it. Mainly because it is embarrassing, and also because I’ve given the link to this blog to people whom I actually see in real life.

But I resisted the urge to delete. Mainly because I want to open up more. Be a little less reserved. Onward! Into the 4th week of summer!

Image

Most of this week was spent getting ready for, attending, and decompressing from the AVID Summer Institute in Sacramento. I enjoyed it, learned a lot, and got re-energized to teach in the upcoming school year.

I also realized that I will be teaching 6th period CC Math 8 in the 2014-2015 school year. Great. But that is a story for another day.

The more I learn about AVID, the more I like it. Some highlights:

– AVID not only helps you become college ready in terms of academics, it also helps you find ways to pay for it.

– AVID helps the ‘C student’ get into college, but it also knows that the final decision is up to the student. It doesn’t force you to actually go, not if you don’t want to. It does prevent you from saying that you can’t do something great just because of your background. I think that is kind of great. Very empowering.

– It’s pretty encouraging to know that I’m already doing some of these teaching strategies that are based on AVID’s WICOR philosophy. It’s awe-inspiring to see how much more I can do. It’s humbling to realize that there’s a lot more road to travel in terms of improving my teaching practice.

Continue doing what I like to do. Continue growing in the ways that I want to grow. Everything else will fall into place. And if it doesn’t? Well, then at least I’m doing what I like.

2 thoughts on “Summer 2013, Week 4

  1. I thought I get 6th period next year! It is definitely my turn for it! Or, were you actually referring to two years from now?

Leave a Reply

